EXBOX-Digital honored with honorary certificate of the Polytechnic Society Foundation

"Digital media as an asset for STEM teaching" - this was the motto of the competition for the Polytechnik Prize 2022 of the Polytechnical company Foundation in Frankfurt, which has been honoring subject didacticians and teaching-learning researchers in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland for their outstanding research and development achievements for good STEM teaching since 2011. The EXBOX-Digital project, funded by the Robert Bosch Stiftung, was selected from a large number of applications and nominated for the Polytechnik Prize 2022. Now, EXBOX-Digital has been awarded an honorary certificate as one of the best eight concepts, recognizing another four outstanding concepts from a large number of applications in addition to the prize winners. The top prize went to Lausanne. EXBOX-Digital is about the combination of haptic experimentation boxes for chemistry and physics lessons with digital support elements (web-based training, AR, images and videos). The project team led by Dr. Stephanie Moser (Technical University of Munich) and Dr. Timo Fleischer (Paris Lodron University Salzburg) is investigating the question of how digital media can support students in the self-directed acquisition of specialist knowledge and experimentation skills as well as in the experience of motivation in chemistry and physics lessons. The prize is awarded under the patronage of the Federal Minister of Education and Research and is awarded on the basis of a current focus topic.

Professor Doris Lewalter belongs to scientific contribution of IWM

Like all Leibniz Institutes, the Leibniz Institute for Knowledge Media (IWM) is advised by a scientific advisory board. Professor Doris Lewalter is now also part of this advisory board. She is one of seven members of the advisory board who were appointed by Theresia Bauer (Minister of Science, Research and the Arts of Baden-Württemberg) as internationally recognized experts in the research field of "knowledge media" on January 1 for the next four years. More detailed information at